• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Steamin With The Miles Davis Quintet

    Steamin’ with the Miles Davis Quintet is a studio album by legendary jazz musician Miles Davis. It was recorded in 1956 and released five years later for Prestige Records. Steamin’ is the last of the four albums that Prestige Records released from two recording sessions with the “first” quintet in 1956. The other albums were Relaxin’, Workin’ and Cookin’ with the Mile Davis Quintet. The quintet, made up of John Coltrane on the saxophone, Red Garland on the piano, bassist Paul Chambers and Philly Joe Jones on the drums, marks the greatest period of Davis’ career. One dynamic that gave this quintet its unique edge is the interplay between Davisí introspective, subdued performance on ballads, and Coltrane’s passionate solos. The interplay between Garland, Chambers, and Jones is another great compliment to the performance of Davis and Coltrane.

    Steamin’ with the Miles Davis Quintet Track listing

    1. “The Surrey With the Fringe On Top” (Richard Rodgers) – 9:07
    2. “Salt Peanuts” (Dizzy Gillespie-Kenny Clarke) – 6:09
    3. “Something I Dreamed Last Night” (Sammy Fain) – 6:17
    4. “Diane” (Lew Pollack / Erno Rapee) – 7:52
    5. “Well You Needn’t” (Thelonious Monk) – 6:22
    6. “When I Fall in Love” (Victor Young) – 4:25

    Get Steamin’ With The Miles Davis Quintet on Vinyl

    [phpbay]steamin with miles davis, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: