• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Underground

    Underground is an album by jazz musician Thelonious Monk. Although recorded in 1967, it wasn’t until February 14, 1968 that Underground made its official debut. Known for its eclectic mix of themes and variations of meter, Underground showcases a freer musical style than that of Monk’s earlier compositions. The track “In Walked Bud” is the only composition with vocals to ever appear on a Monk album. Underground is the last of Monk’s album to feature the Thelonious Monk Quartet. The albums release also sparked much controversy with the cover depicting Monk dressed as a fictitious French resistance fighter at the piano, with a machine gun strapped to his side and a tied-up Nazi soldier in the background.

    Underground Track Listing

    1.    “Thelonious” – 3:13
    2.    “Ugly Beauty” – 3:17
    3.    “Raise Four” – 5:47
    4.    “Boo Boo’s Birthday” – 5:56
    5.    “Easy Street” – 5:53
    6.    “Green Chimneys” – 9:00
    7.    “In Walked Bud” – 4:17

    Get Underground on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]thelonious monk underground, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: