• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • A Single Man

    Elton John’s aptly titled twelfth studio album, A Single Man (1978), finds John taking a break from his longtime lyrical collaborator Bernie Taupin, the studio glitz of producer Gus Dudgeon, and, with the exception of guitarist Davey Johnstone and percussionist Ray Cooper, his band. However, John did not write A Single Man by himself; he teamed up with lyricist Gary Osborne (of Vigrass and Osborne), and hired session musicians for the recordings. The moving, piano-based instrumental “Song for Guy” was a global hit, and John’s tribute to one of his Rocket Records employees, Guy Burchett, who was killed in a motorcycle accident the day he wrote the song. With the album’s more straightforward production, A Single Man puts the emphasis on John’s emotional performances and ability to craft melodies across a broad spectrum of styles, ranging from the bluesy “It Ain’t Gonna Be Easy,” to the gospel-spirited “Georgia,” to the chaos of the anti-war protest “Madness,” to the disco anthem “Part-Time Love” featuring dancey string orchestrations from Paul Buckmaster.

    A Single Man Catalog Number: MCA-3065

    A Single Man Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Shine on Through – 3:40

    2. Return to Paradise – 4:12

    3. I Don’t Care – 4:20

    4. Big Dipper – 4:00

    5. It Ain’t Gonna Be Easy – 8:23

    Side Two

    1. Part-Time Love – 3:12

    2. Georgia – 4:47

    3. Shooting Star – 2:43

    4. Madness – 5:49

    5. Reverie – 0:52

    6. Song for Guy – 6:34

    Get A Single Man on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]elton john single man, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: