• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Elton John

    This 1970 Grammy-nominated album made Elton John a household name in America. Though technically the English singer-songwriter’s sophomore album, it was his first to be released in the States and marks the beginning of his era-defining pop legacy. Produced by Gus Dudgeon, the album includes the quintessential single “Your Song,” the gospel ballad “Border Song” (which would become a Top-40 hit for Aretha Franklin), and an emerging use of string arrangements courtesy of Paul Buckmaster. There are still a few rockers – the blues-based “Take Me to the Pilot” and the funkier “The Cage,” for example – and John shows his range with the honky-tonk “No Shoe Strings on Louise” and the more serious, harpsichord-led “I Need You to Turn To.” However, the most notable quality on display here is the impeccable sense of songcraft by John and his lyricist Bernie Taupin.

    Elton John Catalog Number: Uni 73090

    Elton John Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Your Song – 4:00

    2. I Need You to Turn To – 2:30

    3. Take Me to the Pilot – 3:48

    4. No Shoe Strings on Louise – 3:30

    5. First Episode at Hienton – 4:52

    Side Two

    1. Sixty Years On – 4:33

    2. Border Song – 3:19

    3. The Greatest Discovery – 4:11

    4. The Cage – 3:28

    5. The King Must Die – 5:09

    Get Elton John on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]elton john self titled, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: