• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Reg Strikes Back

    After releasing the poorest-charting album of his career with 1986’s Leather Jackets, switching labels, and undergoing throat surgery, Elton John struck back with his 1988 self-proclaimed comeback album, Reg Strikes Back. (“Reg” refers to John’s birth name, Reginald Kenneth Dwight.) The album features his biggest hit in a decade “I Don’t Wanna Go On With You Like That,” as well as the Top-20 single “A Word in Spanish.” It also finds John revisiting one of his 1972 Honky Chateau classics with “Mona Lisas and Mad Hatters (Part Two),” featuring jazz trumpeter Freddie Hubbard. Other guests include Pete Townshend who plays acoustic guitar on opening track “Town of Plenty,” and Beach Boys Bruce Johnston and Carl Wilson who provide harmonies on the Beach Boys-inspired closer “Since God Invented Girls.” In addition to replacing his grand piano with a Roland RD-1000 digital piano for the album, John decided to auction off his outrageous stage costumes, and these are displayed on Reg‘s cover (note the infamous Donald Duck cap).

    Reg Strikes Back Catalog Number: MCA-6240

    Reg Strikes Back Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Town of Plenty – 3:40

    2. A Word in Spanish – 4:38

    3. Mona Lisas and Mad Hatters (Part Two) – 4:11

    4. I Don’t Wanna Go On With You Like That – 4:33

    5. Japanese Hands – 4:40

    Side Two

    1. Goodbye Marlon Brando – 3:29

    2. The Camera Never Lies – 4:35

    3. Heavy Traffic – 3:28

    4. Poor Cow – 3:48

    5. Since God Invented Girls – 4:40

    Get Reg Strikes Back on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]elton john reg strikes back, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: