• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • The Captain & The Kid

    A sequel to 1975’s Captain Fantastic and the Brown Dirt Cowboy, The Captain & The Kid (2006) is an autobiographical concept album about Elton John’s long partnership with lyricist Bernie Taupin. Rich with context, it chronicles all of their ups and downs. Where Captain Fantastic focused on their pre-success struggles, The Captain & The Kid examines their inability to cope with fame, addressing their strained partnership on “Tinderbox” and John’s battle with drugs on “And the House Fell Down.” It also remembers friends they lost to AIDS, drugs, and in the case of John Lennon, murder on “Blues Never Fade Away.” Familiar melodies course through the narratives evoking nostalgia of past hits. The album closes with the reflective “Old ’67” (1967 being the year Taupin and John met), and the final title track reprises Captain Fantastic‘s opening lines. Fun Fact: On “Just Like Noah’s Ark,” John’s dog Arthur is credited for “woof-bells” (barking) in place of cow-bell.

    The Captain & The Kid Catalog Number: Mercury 0602517753174

    The Captain & The Kid Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Postcards from Richard Nixon – 5:14

    2. Just Like Noah’s Ark – 5:33

    3. Wouldn’t Have You Any Other Way (NYC) – 4:39

    4. Tinderbox – 4:26

    5. And the House Fell Down – 4:49

    Side Two

    1. Blues Never Fade Away – 4:45

    2. The Bridge – 3:38

    3. I Must Have Lost It on the Wind – 3:53

    4. Old ’67 – 4:01

    5. The Captain and the Kid – 5:01

    Get The Captain & The Kid on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]elton john captain kid, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: