• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Heathen

    Released in 2002, “Heathen” was considered Davie Bowie’s comeback album in the US.  Although he had been well received in Europe, he has not had many hit singles or albums in the US since the mid 1980’s.  As his highest charting album at #14, it did extremely well in the US market.  Pete Townsend from The Who joined Bowie on this album to showcase his guitar presence in many of the singles.  The theme of “Heathen” mostly focused on the degradation of the world such as seen in “Slow Burn” and “A Better Future.”  Rather solemn at times, the lyrics are superb on the original songs as are the cover songs such as “I’ve been Waiting for You.”  All in all, fans and critics agreed that this was one of the best albums he had released in a long time and often overlooked because of his lack of commercial albums in the US.  It’s definitely worth listening to.

    Heathen Catalog Number: ISO/Columbia 946734

    Heathen Track Listing:

    1. “Sunday” (4:45)
    2. “Cactus” (Black Francis) (2:54)
    3. “Slip Away” (6:05)
    4. “Slow Burn” (4:41)
    5. “Afraid” (3:28)
    6. “I’ve Been Waiting for You” (Neil Young) (3:00)
    7. “I Would Be Your Slave” (5:14)
    8. “I Took a Trip on a Gemini Spaceship” (Norman Carl Odam) (4:04)
    9. “5:15 The Angels Have Gone” (5:00)
    10. “Everyone Says ‘Hi'” (3:59)
    11. “A Better Future” (4:11)
    12. “Heathen (The Rays)” (4:16)

    Get Heathen on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]Bowie Heathen, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: