• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Hot Space

    After the success of “Another One Bites the Dust,” Queen dove headfirst into dance music with 1982’s Hot Space. Included on the album is “Under Pressure,” Queen’s notorious collaboration with David Bowie. Another single, the dance/funk “Body Language” takes a minimal approach and is notable for its near lack of guitar and use of synth bass. Roger Taylor’s “Action This Day” takes a cue from the new wave movement with its electronic drum machine and sax-like synthesizer solo, while “Dancer” is pure disco-metal with a synth thump and searing guitar. For old fans, “Put Out the Fire” is more traditional Queen and the rest of Side Two definitely rocks harder – even if it is with electronic drums. “Calling All Girls” is a standout, and Mercury’s piano-based tribute to John Lennon, “Life Is Real,” is touching. Queen’s new disco-rock sound created quite a stir, but it also got people dancing.

    Hot Space Catalog Number:  EMI/Elektra E160128

    Hot Space Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Staying Power – 4:10

    2. Dancer – 3:47

    3. Back Chat – 4:33

    4. Body Language – 4:32

    5. Action This Day – 3:32

    Side Two

    1. Put Out the Fire – 3:18

    2. Life Is Real (Song for Lennon) – 3:31

    3. Calling All Girls – 3:52

    4. Las Palabras de Amor (The Words of Love) – 4:29

    5. Cool Cat – 3:48

    6. Under Pressure – 4:03

    Get Hot Space on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]queen hot space, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: