• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • L.A. (Light Album)

    In 1979, Bruce Johnston returned to the Beach Boys as both a member and a producer. His first album in this new role, L.A. (Light Album) includes the single “Good Timin'” (recorded four years earlier by Brian and Carl Wilson). With its laidback vibe and dazzling harmonies, this is one of the Beach Boys’ finer songs. Side Two features the epic 11-minute extended disco version of the old Wild Honey track “Here Comes the Night,” complete with digital effects. The album also features an outstanding performance by Carl, “Full Sail,” and produced two hits in the UK: Al Jardine’s baroque “Lady Lynda” written for his wife, and Mike Love’s Japanese-flavored “Sumahama.” Both “Baby Blue” and “Love Surrounds Me” were originally recorded for Dennis Wilson’s never-released second solo album, Bamboo, and would be the last of his songs released before his death in 1983. The album closes with a quirky Brian Wilson take on the traditional “Shortenin’ Bread.”

    L.A. (Light Album) Catalog Number:  Caribou CRB 11-66081

    L.A. (Light Album) Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Good Timin’ – 2:10

    2. Lady Lynda – 3:58

    3. Full Sail – 3:28

    4. Angel Come Home – 3:54

    5. Love Surrounds Me – 3:37

    6. Sumahama – 4:28

    Side Two

    1. Here Comes the Night – 10:57

    2. Baby Blue – 3:21

    3. Goin’ South – 3:14

    4. Shortenin’ Bread – 2:48

    Get L.A. (Light Album) on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]beach boys light album, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: