• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • M.I.U. Album

    The Beach Boys’ M.I.U. Album was recorded at the Maharishi International University in Fairfield, Iowa at the suggestion of Mike Love, the band’s follower of Transcendental Meditation. M.I.U. is the first Beach Boys album produced by Al Jardine, with Brian Wilson as executive producer. In this new role, Jardine succeeds at emphasizing the band’s main strength: harmonies. Their cover of the Dell-Vikings’ doo-wop classic “Come Go with Me” is one of the best covers the Beach Boys have ever recorded, and it went on to become a Top 20 hit for the band. They also infuse their rich harmonies into Buddy Holly’s “Peggy Sue.” Of the originals, opener “She’s Got Rhythm” stands out with its wailing sax, and “Kona Coast” is one of the band’s best post-’60s beach songs. Dennis Wilson’s vocals are especially fitting on the aching “My Diane” and the light-hearted “Hey Little Tomboy.”

    M.I.U. Album Catalog Number:  Brother K54102

    M.I.U. Album Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. She’s Got Rhythm – 2:26

    2. Come Go with Me – 2:06

    3. Hey Little Tomboy – 2:24

    4. Kona Coast – 2:31

    5. Peggy Sue – 2:14

    6. Wontcha Come out Tonight? – 2:29

    Side Two

    1. Sweet Sunday Kinda Love – 2:41

    2. Belles of Paris – 2:26

    3. Pitter Patter – 3:13

    4. My Diane – 2:36

    5. Match Point of Our Love – 3:29

    6. Winds of Change – 3:13

    Get M.I.U. Album on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]beach boys M.I.U. album, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: