• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Miles Ahead

    Miles Ahead is a studio album by legendary jazz musician Miles Davis. The album was recorded and released in 1957 for Columbia Records. The album marks the first occasion after Birth of the Cool in which Davis recorded with Gil Evans. The duo would go on to release a number of hugely successful albums such as Porgy and Bess and Sketches of Spain. Davis is the only solo performer on the album, which has a notable horn section. The Penguin Guide to Jazz rates this record as a masterpiece and one of Davis’ best. This is certainly a must have in any collection of the works of Miles Davis, or jazz music in general.

    Miles Ahead Track Listing

    1. “Springsville” (John Carisi) – 3:27
    2. “The Maids of Cadiz” (Leo Delibes) – 3:53
    3. “The Duke” (Dave Brubeck) – 3:35
    4. “My Ship” (Ira Gershwin/Kurt Weill) – 4:28
    5. “Miles Ahead” (Davis/Evans) – 3:29
    6. “Blues for Pablo” (Evans) – 5:18
    7. “New Rhumba” (Ahmad Jamal) – 4:37
    8. “The Meaning of the Blues” (Bobby Troup/Worth) – 2:48
    9. “Lament” (J. J. Johnson) – 2:14
    10. “I Don’t Wanna Be Kissed (By Anyone But You)” (Jack Elliott/Harold Spina) – 3:05

    Get Miles Ahead on Vinyl

    [phpbay]miles ahead davis, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: