• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Dylan

    The self titled album “Dylan” was Bob Dylan’s 13th album to be released, but was actually made without hardly any input from Dylan himself which made it questionable to the critics, but still managed to be seen as a fan favorite.  Using many of the outtakes from “Self Portrait” and “New Morning” Columbia Records recorded this album almost as a way to get back at Dylan for leaving them and moving on to Asylum Records.  That being said, those who love the albums previously released will enjoy the music on this album showed almost as a continuation of the other albums.  Not even released as a CD, these rarely heard songs make great conversation pieces for the true Dylan fan.  One of the most popular songs on the album at the time was “Mr. Bojangles” and “Big Yellow Taxi.”

    Dylan Catalog Number: Columbia 32747

    Dylan Track Listing:

    Tracks 1–7 recorded June 1970 for New Morning sessions, Tracks 8–9 recorded April 1969 for Self Portrait sessions

    Side one

    1.    “Lily of the West” (Traditional; arrangement by E. Davies, J. Peterson) – 3:44

    2.    “Can’t Help Falling in Love” (George Weiss, Hugo Peretti, Luigi Creatore) – 4:17

    3.    “Sarah Jane” (Dylan) – 2:43

    4.    “The Ballad of Ira Hayes” (Peter LaFarge) – 5:08

    Side two

    1.    “Mr. Bojangles” (Jerry Jeff Walker) – 5:31

    2.    “Mary Ann” (Traditional) – 2:40

    3.    “Big Yellow Taxi” (Joni Mitchell) – 2:12

    4.    “A Fool Such as I” (Bill Trader; wrongly attributed to James Buford Abner, who wrote a gospel song with the same title) – 2:41

    5.    “Spanish Is the Loving Tongue” (alternate take) (Charles Badger Clark) – 4:13
    [phpbay]dylan self titled, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: