• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • For the Roses

    Released between her two major successes, the confessional Blue and commercial Court and Spark, Joni Mitchell’s For the Roses is more than just a transitional bridge. While it does show a shift to jazzier, more improvisational coloring on the haunting “Cold Blue Steel and Sweet Fire” and the light-hearted “Barangrill,” it also features some of Mitchell’s most well-written compositions and first bona fide hit single, “You Turn Me On, I’m a Radio.” Taking an observational approach, Mitchell examines love, fame, and society on the album. She honors the artistic spirit with a song for Beethoven (“Judgement of the Moon and Stars”), and grapples with loving a free-spirited rock ‘n’ roll man on the pop-rocker “Blonde in the Bleachers.” Showing a preference for piano, the album also features woodwinds, chamber strings, and complex harmonies. Its soaring vocals and smartly poetic lyrics cement Mitchell as a “Woman of Heart and Mind.”

    For the Roses Catalog Number:  Asylum 5057

    For the Roses Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Banquet – 3:00

    2. Cold Blue Steel and Sweet Fire – 4:17

    3. Barangrill – 2:53

    4. Lesson in Survival – 3:10

    5. Let the Wind Carry Me – 3:55

    6. For the Roses – 3:46

    Side Two

    1. See You Sometime – 2:58

    2. Electricity – 3:00

    3. You Turn Me On, I’m a Radio – 2:40

    4. Blonde in the Bleachers – 2:40

    5. Woman of Heart and Mind – 2:36

    6. Judgement of the Moon and Stars (Ludwig’s Tune) – 5:25

    Get For the Roses on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]mitchell for the roses, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: