• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • A Song Will Rise

    A Song Will Rise is Peter, Paul and Mary’s fourth studio album, released in 1965. At this time, the British Invasion was in full swing and American Beatlemania was at its peak. Peter, Paul and Mary stuck to their folk vision, though, as well as the tried and true format of their previous releases. A Song Will Rise opens with a joyful interpretation of Dylan’s “When the Ship Comes In” and features a mix of covers, traditionals, and a few originals. It continues the trio’s knack for packing political resonance into beautiful vocal harmonies, a quality that made the group rise in the nation’s consciousness and on the charts. The album’s biggest hit was the Gordon Lightfoot cover “For Lovin’ Me” and it helped do for Lightfoot what the trio’s cover of “Blowin’ in the Wind” had done for Bob Dylan a few years prior.

    A Song Will Rise Catalog Number: Warner Bros. WS 1589

    A Song Will Rise Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. When the Ship Comes In – 2:38

    2. Jimmy Whalen – 2:41

    3. Come and Go With Me – 3:08

    4. Gilgarra Mountain – 6:02

    5. Ballad of Spring Hill (Spring Hill Disaster) – 3:13

    6. Motherless Child – 3:43

    Side Two

    1. Wasn’t That a Time – 2:24

    2. Monday Morning – 3:18

    3. The Cuckoo – 2:21

    4. San Francisco Bay Blues – 3:02

    5. Talkin’ Candy Bar Blues – 2:36

    6. For Lovin’ Me – 2:08

    Get A Song Will Rise on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]peter paul mary a song will rise, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: