• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Live at the Half Note: One Up, One Down

    Live at the Half Note: One Up, One Down is an album by jazz musician John Coltrane. It was recorded in 1965 at New York's Half Note club. Although there are a number of live Coltrane albums from the 60s, none are as good as this one. It is easy to forget yourself and get lost in epic performances like the 28-minute title track, 23-minute rendition of "My Favorite Things" and 20-minute "Song of Praise". Coltrane's sax is complemented by pianist McCoy Tyner's ferocious notes, and drummer Elvin Jones' and bassist Jimmy Garrison's eloquent lines. Focusing
    on melody, which he would abandon in the final phase of his shortened career, Coltrane keeps listeners enthralled as he ventures into uncharted territory.

    Live at the Half Note: One Up, One Down Track listing

    1. "Introduction and Announcements" - 1:36
    2. "One Down, One UpĂ®" - 27:39
    3. "Announcement" -0:51
    4. "Afro-Blue" -12:44
    5. "Introduction and Announcements" -0:43
    6. "Song of Praise" -19:38
    7. "Announcements" -0:43
    8. "My Favorite Things" - 22:37

    CURL error code = 28. (Operation timed out after 20000 milliseconds with 0 bytes received)

    Post By: