• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Monk’s Music

    Monk’s Music was recorded 1957 by Thelonious Monk and his jazz septet.  It is often regarded as the major focal point of Monk’s six-year affiliation with Riverside Records.  Although some of the songs had appeared on previous Monk albums, all songs are original compositions by Monk with the exception of one.  The album was recorded in stereo and mono providing for two entirely different listening experiences of the same recorded performance.  Staying true to his style, Monk and his septet provided a richness of interpretation not often heard.  Reissued on July 1, 1991 by Original Jazz Classics, Monkís Music has been deemed as a great jazz classic.

    Monk’s Music (1957) Track List

    Original recording
    Side A
    1.    Abide with Me
    2.    Well, You Neednít
    3.    Ruby, My Dear
    Side B
    1.    Off Minor
    2.    Epistrophy
    3.    Crepuscule with Nellie

    Get Monk’s Music on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]thelonious monks music, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: