• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Live in Australia

    Recorded in Sydney at the end of 1986, Elton John’s Live in Australia (1987) is a live career retrospective featuring the 88-piece Melbourne Symphony Orchestra. It is also the last of John’s recordings to feature his original vocal register, as he would undergo throat surgery just weeks after the concert. Yet, it is one of his most powerful performances and produced the international chart-topping live single of “Candle in the Wind.” Led and arranged by John’s former keyboardist James Newton-Howard, the orchestra lends a new splendor to songs like “Madman Across the Water,” “Sixty Years On,” and “Burn Down the Mission.” “Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me” makes for an especially moving closer, “Take Me to the Pilot” is a standout, and many prefer this live version of “Tonight” to the studio version on Blue Moves. Featuring classics (“Tiny Dancer,” “Your Song”) alongside lesser-known gems (“The Greatest Discovery,” “Have Mercy on the Criminal,” “The King Must Die”), this is a great introduction to Elton John and a must-have for fans.

    Live in Australia Catalog Number: MCA2-8022

    Live in Australia Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Sixty Years On – 5:06

    2. I Need You to Turn To – 2:34

    3. The Greatest Discovery – 3:48

    4. Tonight – 7:26

    Side Two

    1. Sorry Seems to Be the Hardest Word – 3:30

    2. The King Must Die – 4:58

    3. Take Me to the Pilot – 3:54

    4. Tiny Dancer – 6:06

    Side Three

    1. Have Mercy on the Criminal – 5:28

    2. Madman Across the Water – 5:20

    3. Candle in the Wind – 3:46

    Side Four

    1. Burn Down the Mission – 5:26

    2. Your Song – 3:48

    3. Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me – 5:28

    Get Live in Australia on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]elton john live in australia, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: