• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Madman Across the Water

    Opening with the powerful one-two punch of “Tiny Dancer” and “Levon,” Elton John’s Madman Across the Water (1971) features some of his best work. It also explores prog rock while still featuring Paul Buckmaster’s driving string arrangements, John’s sumptuous piano melodies, and Bernie Taupin’s lyrical character studies. The haunting title track, originally recorded for 1970’s Tumbleweed Connection, reveals a dark and introspective undercurrent that will really rear its head five years later on 1976’s Blue Moves. The complex, seven-minute suite “Indian Sunset” is another evocative track on the topic of Native Americans during the Colonial period. With the exception of the up-tempo rockers “Holiday Inn,” “Razor Face,” and the rustic “Rotten Peaches,” Madman‘s brooding undercurrent runs through to the album’s closer, “Goodbye,” with Buckmaster’s strings heightening the emotion.

    Madman Across the Water Catalog Number: Uni 93120

    Madman Across the Water Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Tiny Dancer – 6:12

    2. Levon – 5:37

    3. Razor Face – 4:40

    4. Madman Across the Water – 5:22

    Side Two

    1. Indian Sunset – 6:45

    2. Holiday Inn – 4:22

    3. Rotten Peaches – 5:14

    4. All the Nasties – 5:08

    5. Goodbye – 1:48

    Get Madman Across the Water on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]elton john madman, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: