• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Sleeping with the Past

    While 1989’s Sleeping with the Past was not well favored by critics at the time of its release, it is a fan favorite – as well as Elton John’s best-selling album in Denmark, where it was recorded. It produced his first solo number-one hit in the UK with “Sacrifice,” one of his best songs to date, and features classics like “Healing Hands” and the upbeat “Club at the End of the Street.” The “past” of the title is the one of Marvin Gaye, Otis Redding, and Sam Cooke, and John and lyricist Bernie Taupin used these artists as specific jumping-off points in the writing process. Their goal of paying tribute to the R&B soul sound of the ’60s and ’70s makes this John’s most unified album of the decade. It’s also the last to feature his falsetto vocals (most notably on “Blue Avenue”), as his 1987 throat surgery had hindered the use of his upper register, and the first to feature second keyboardist Guy Babylon, who would continue to play with John until his death in 2009. A must-have for any fan.

    Sleeping with the Past Catalog Number: MCA-6321

    Sleeping with the Past Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Durban Deep – 5:32

    2. Healing Hands – 4:23

    3. Whispers – 5:29

    4. Club at the End of the Street – 4:49

    5. Sleeping With the Past – 4:58

    Side Two

    1. Stone’s Throw From Hurtin’ – 4:55

    2. Sacrifice – 5:07

    3. I Never Knew Her Name – 3:31

    4. Amazes Me – 4:39

    5. Blue Avenue – 4:21

    Get Sleeping with the Past on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]elton john sleeping with the past, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: