• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Too Low for Zero

    Revitalized after the success of 1982’s Jump Up!, Elton John regained control of the charts with his followup 1983 release, Too Low for Zero. He had reunited for good with his lyricist Bernie Taupin, and brought back his core ’70s backing band – bassist Dee Murray, drummer Nigel Olsson, and guitarist Davey Johnstone – while handling all the keyboard duties himself. This return to form produced the hit singles “I’m Still Standing,” “Kiss the Bride,” and the classic “I Guess That’s Why They Call It the Blues” featuring harmonica by Stevie Wonder. What makes this album so exceptional, though, is that these hits are anchored by solid tracks like the opening “Cold as Christmas (In the Middle of the Year),” a song about a decaying marriage featuring vocalist Kiki Dee and harp by Skaila Kanga, and the excellent title track. Still standing indeed.

    Too Low for Zero Catalog Number: Geffen GHS 4006

    Too Low for Zero Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Cold as Christmas (In the Middle of the Year) – 4:18

    2. I’m Still Standing – 3:00

    3. Too Low for Zero – 5:44

    4. Religion – 4:02

    5. I Guess That’s Why They Call It the Blues – 4:42

    Side Two

    1. Crystal – 5:04

    2. Kiss the Bride – 4:20

    3. Whipping Boy – 3:42

    4. Saint – 5:18

    5. One More Arrow – 3:36

    Get Too Low for Zero on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]elton john too low zero, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: