• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Mr. Wonderful

    The second album by Peter Green’s blues-era Fleetwood Mac starts the band’s pattern of change in motion. This time the change involved the addition of horns by various guest musicians, and the addition of keyboards by Christine Perfect – soon to be Christine McVie. Recorded live in the studio using a PA system as opposed to plugging into the board, the album transports listeners to a blues club on Chicago’s South Side. The influence of Elmore James is still evident here (if not more so) in Jeremy Spencer’s songs, and his slide guitar solos really shine on the classic blues tune “Dust My Broom,” as well as original “I’ve Lost My Baby.” The album ends in a more traditional Delta blues style with “Trying So Hard to Forget,” featuring only Green on acoustic guitar and guest Tony “Duster” Bennett on harmonica. Released in 1968, Mr. Wonderful was only issued in the UK, and revised and released in the US as English Rose the following year.

    Mr. Wonderful Catalog Number: Blue Horizon 7-63205

    Mr. Wonderful Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Stop Messin’ Round – 2:19

    2. I’ve Lost My Baby – 4:16

    3. Rollin’ Man – 2:52

    4. Dust My Broom – 2:51

    5. Love That Burns – 5:02

    6. Doctor Brown – 3:43

    Side Two

    1. Need Your Love Tonight – 3:26

    2. If You Be My Baby – 3:51

    3. Evenin’ Boogie – 2:39

    4. Lazy Poker Blues – 2:34

    5. Coming Home – 2:38

    6. Trying So Hard to Forget – 4:45

    Get Mr. Wonderful on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]fleetwood mac mr wonderful, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: