• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Bob Dylan at Budokan

    Released in 1979, “Bob Dylan at Budokan” was a compilation of recordings made from two different shows in Budokan, Tokyo Japan on February 28th and March 1, 1978  and was comprised mostly of his greatest hits so far to date.  However, they were mostly altered from the original but using many of the same musicians that he used for his “Street-Legal” album in addition to the much larger band used only for the Budokan performances.  Sounding a bit more conventional, it received very bad reviews at the time.  Over time though, many critics have gained appreciation for the different techniques that Dylan used.  It is the innovation of the album that although not understood then can be looked back on as something really wonderful, almost changing the entire sound of the original around to make something new and exciting.  Purists may feel songs such as “The Times They are A-Changin’ and “Mr. Tambourine Man” may sound too different but others say that is why the album is so great.

    Bob Dylan at Budokan Catalog Number:  Columbia 36067

    Bob Dylan at Budokan Track Listing:

    Disc One

    1. “Mr. Tambourine Man” (4:54)

    2.  “Shelter from the Storm” (4:30)

    3.  “Love Minus Zero/No Limit” (3:52)

    4.  “Ballad of a Thin Man” (4:47)

    5.  “Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right” (4:55)

    6.  “Maggie’s Farm” (5:06)

    7.  “One More Cup of Coffee (Valley Below)” (3:19)

    8.  “Like a Rolling Stone” (6:31)

    9.  “I Shall Be Released” (4:12)

    10. “Is Your Love in Vain?” (4:02)

    11. “Going, Going, Gone” (4:22)

    Disc Two

    1.  “Blowin’ in the Wind” (4:25)

    2.  “Just Like a Woman” (5:03)

    3.  “Oh, Sister” (4:44)

    4.  “Simple Twist of Fate” (4:15)

    5.  “All Along the Watchtower” (3:20)

    6.  “I Want You” (2:34)

    7.  “All I Really Want to Do” (3:47)

    8.  “Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door” (4:00)

    9.  “It’s Alright, Ma” (6:04)

    10. “Forever Young” (5:38)

    11. “The Times They Are A-Changin’” (5:31)

    Get Bob Dylan at Budokan in Vinyl:

    [phpbay]dylan at budokan, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: