• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Amigos

    Thanks to the influence of producer David Rubinson, Santana’s seventh studio album, Amigos, is considerably tighter, more upbeat, and more accessible than the few experimental jazz albums that preceded it. It is also more dynamic than anything Santana had released since 1971’s Santana III. It contains the R&B-tinged single “Let It Shine,” and features the condensed lineup of Carlos Santana on guitar, David Brown on bass, Tom Coster on keys, and percussion by Leon Chancler and Armando Peraza. The album is also considerably more vocal, featuring singers Greg Walker, Ivory Stone, Julia Tillman Waters, and Maxine Willard Waters. “Dance Sister Dance” and “Gitano” return to Santana’s Latin roots, the latter opening with an incredible Flamenco guitar solo by Santana and settling into a catchy Cuban groove. Other album highlights include the funk-fusion “Let Me,” and “Europa (Earth’s Cry Heaven’s Smile),” which features some of Santana’s most powerful guitar work to date.

    Amigos Catalog Number: Columbia PC33576

    Amigos Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Dance Sister Dance – 8:15

    2. Take Me with You – 5:27

    3. Let Me – 4:51

    Side Two

    1. Gitano – 6:13

    2. Tell Me Are You Tired – 5:42

    3. Europa (Earth’s Cry Heaven’s Smile) – 5:06

    4. Let It Shine – 5:43

    Get Amigos on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]santana amigos, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: