• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Freedom

    Freedom marks a return to form for Santana. Though still rocking the synths, the album moves away from the pop gloss of Beyond Appearances and back to the band’s Latin rock roots. It also marks the return of drummer Graham Lear and keyboardist Tom Coster, who join keyboardist Chester Thompson, bassist Alphonso Johnson, guitarist Carlos Santana, and percussionists Armando Pereza, Orestes Vilato, and Raul Reko. But the most notable addition is Buddy Miles on lead vocals. Of course Santana’s guitar is also a lead singer on the album, and especially compelling here. His articulate style burns on every track like poetic lyrics, most notably on the bluesy “Veracruz” (featuring original member Gregg Rolie) and the instrumental “Love Is You.” Thanks to the album’s looser sound, the percussion section is more prominent and shines especially bright on “Mandela,” Santana’s tribute to the South African freedom fighter.

    Freedom Catalog Number:  Columbia FC40272

    Freedom Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Veracruz – 4:23

    2. She Can’t Let Go – 4:45

    3. Once It’s Gotcha – 5:42

    4. Love Is You – 3:54

    5. Songs of Freedom – 4:28

    Side Two

    1. Deeper, Dig Deeper – 4:18

    2. Praise – 4:36

    3. Mandela – 5:31

    4. Before We Go – 3:54

    5. Victim of Circumstance – 5:21

    Get Freedom on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]santana freedom, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: