• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Marathon

    With its slick harmonies, pounding rhythm section, synths, and the dual guitars of Carlos Santana and Chris Solberg, Santana’s tenth studio album, Marathon, continues the band’s shift into more commercial arena rock and pop/soul. Vocalist Greg Walker is replaced by Alexander Ligertwood, and Alan Pasqua takes over on keyboard duties. Following the disco-colored “Stand Up” is the instrumental “Runnin'” led by David Margen’s bass. The percussive flair of Armando Peraza and Raul Rekow can be heard on the salsa-fied “Summer Lady.” The jazz-fusion instrumental “Aqua Marine” is a gorgeous composition that showcases Santana’s songwriting at its best. It also speaks to the talent of these musicians, as Marathon consists entirely of band-written material. Marathon yielded one single, “You Know that I Love You,” which became a Top 40 hit.

    Marathon Catalog Number:  Columbia FC36154

    Marathon Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Marathon – 1:27

    2. Lightning in the Sky – 3:51

    3. Aqua Marine – 5:37

    4. You Know that I Love You – 4:27

    5. All I Ever Wanted – 4:01

    Side Two

    1. Stand Up – 4:03

    2. Runnin’ – 1:40

    3. Summer Lady – 4:22

    4. Love – 3:22

    5. Stay (Beside Me) – 3:50

    6. Hard Times – 3:58

    Get Marathon on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]santana marathon, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: