• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Gimme Back My Bullets

    After the departure of Ed King and before the addition of Steve Gaines, Lynyrd Skynyrd was down to two guitarists. However, there is still plenty of riff-driven rock on the band’s fourth studio album, Gimme Back My Bullets. Guitarists Gary Rossington and Allen Collins step it up, drummer Artimus Pyle comes on stronger, and Ronnie Van Zant delivers some of his angriest vocals on the title track. Also filling out the band’s Southern rock sound are the Honkettes – JoJo Billingsley, Leslie Hawkins, and Cassie Gaines – whose backing vocals can be heard on the raucous “Double Trouble” and “Cry for the Bad Man.” (Gaines would eventually recommend her little brother Steve join the band on guitar.) While Van Zant revealed more of his sensitive side on Nuthin’ Fancy, he gets especially personal on “Roll Gypsy Roll” and the environmentally-themed acoustic country ballad “All I Can Do Is Write About It.” In context, Gimme Back My Bullets is Skynyrd at their most introspective, disillusioned, and defiant.

    Gimme Back My Bullets Catalog Number:  MCA Records MCA-3022

    Gimme Back My Bullets Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Gimme Back My Bullets – 3:28

    2. Every Mother’s Son – 4:56

    3. Trust – 4:24

    4. I Got the Same Old Blues – 4:08

    Side Two

    1. Double Trouble – 2:48

    2. Roll Gypsy Roll – 2:49

    3. Searching – 3:18

    4. Cry for the Bad Man – 4:48

    5. All I Can Do Is Write About It – 4:14

    Get Gimme Back My Bullets on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]skynyrd gimme back my bullets, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: