• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Lynyrd Skynyrd (Pronounced ‘Leh-‘nerd ‘Skin-‘nerd)

    Perhaps people needed help pronouncing Lynyrd Skynyrd’s name when the Florida band’s debut album came out in 1973, but soon no one would need help recognizing – or requesting – the album’s classic rock anthem “Free Bird.” With the exception of this nine-minute epic, Pronounced is actually quite lean and mean. Full of instantly recognizable Skynyrd standards like “I Ain’t the One,” “Gimme Three Steps,” “Poison Whiskey,” “Simple Man,” and the ultimate rock ballad “Tuesday’s Gone,” there isn’t a single weak spot on it. By blending hard rock, blues, country, and the heart of the South with the distinctly sentimental voice and intelligent lyrics of Ronnie Van Zant, Lynyrd Skynyrd didn’t just create an anthem with this album, they defined a genre. They also won themselves an opening slot on the Who’s US Quadrophenia tour. Fun Fact: Leonard Skinnerd was a physical-education teacher at the band members’ high school that busted their chops for having long hair.

    Lynyrd Skynyrd (Pronounced ‘Leh-‘nerd ‘Skin-‘nerd) Catalog Number:  MCA SVLP52

    Lynyrd Skynyrd (Pronounced ‘Leh-‘nerd ‘Skin-‘nerd) Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. I Ain’t the One – 3:51

    2. Tuesday’s Gone – 7:32

    3. Gimme Three Steps – 4:30

    4. Simple Man – 5:57

    Side Two

    1. Things Goin’ On – 4:57

    2. Mississippi Kid – 3:57

    3. Poison Whiskey – 3:11

    4. Free Bird – 9:08

    Get Lynyrd Skynyrd (Pronounced ‘Leh-‘nerd ‘Skin-‘nerd) on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]skynyrd (Pronounced ‘Skin-‘nerd) , 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: