• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Nuthin’ Fancy

    Lynyrd Skynyrd’s third studio album, Nuthin’ Fancy, isn’t fancy – in fact, it’s rawer than any of the band’s previous releases. Ronnie Van Zant is at the top of his game from the crunch of opener “Saturday Night Special” to the rollicking barroom closer “Whiskey Rock-a-Roller.” He is also at his most personal on “Am I Losin'” one of the album’s standout tracks. The triple onslaught of guitarists Gary Rossington, Ed King, and Allen Collins drives “I’m a Country Boy,” and producer Al Kooper plays organ on the bluesy “Cheatin’ Woman.” But it doesn’t get heavier than “On the Hunt,” arguably one of the band’s best. Becoming a classic rock radio staple, “Saturday Night Special” takes a bold stand against handguns, as Lynyrd Skynyrd continues to defy stereotypes of the Southern man. Also of note, Nuthin’ Fancy is the first Skynyrd album to feature drummer Artimus Pyle.

    Nuthin’ Fancy Catalog Number:  MCA Records MCA2137

    Nuthin’ Fancy Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Saturday Night Special – 5:08

    2. Cheatin’ Woman – 4:38

    3. Railroad Song – 4:14

    4. I’m a Country Boy – 4:24

    Side Two

    1. On the Hunt – 5:25

    2. Am I Losin’ – 4:32

    3. Made in the Shade – 4:40

    4. Whiskey Rock-A-Roller – 4:33

    Get Nuthin’ Fancy on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]skynyrd nuthin’ fancy, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: