• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Street Survivors

    Street Survivors is the last Lynyrd Skynyrd album recorded by original members Ronnie Van Zant and Allen Collins, and the sole Skynyrd studio album featuring new guitarist Steve Gaines. Three days after the album’s release, the band’s tour plane crashed en route to Baton Rouge, Louisiana, killing Van Zant, Gaines, and backup singer Cassie Gaines (Steve’s older sister). Single “That Smell,” which refers to the smell of death, feels strangely prophetic with its morbid, cautionary lyrics “tomorrow might not be here for you.” Also prophetic, the original album cover depicted the band engulfed in flames. Ironically, the album has a renewed sense of vitality, fueled by the addition of Steve’s guitar. “What’s Your Name” and “You Got that Right” are energetic Southern boogies, and the band’s raucous cover of Merle Haggard’s “Honky Tonk Night Time Man” overflows with country goodness. Without a doubt, Van Zant is survived by one of his band’s best albums.

    Street Survivors Catalog Number:  MCA Records MCA3029

    Street Survivors Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. What’s Your Name – 3:30

    2. That Smell – 5:47

    3. One More Time – 5:03

    4. I Know a Little – 3:26

    Side Two

    1. You Got that Right – 3:44

    2. I Never Dreamed – 5:21

    3. Honky Tonk Night Time Man – 3:59

    4. Ain’t No Good Life – 4:36

    Get Street Survivors on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]skynyrd street survivors, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: