• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Sheer Heart Attack

    Featuring the international hit “Killer Queen,” which revealed Freddie Mercury’s vaudevillian streak to the world, Sheer Heart Attack finds Queen harnessing big, powerful, operatic rock that still manages to have tight arrangements. Opening track “Brighton Rock” is a love story. Originally intended to be a duet, Mercury ended up singing both the female and male parts over Brian May’s guitar pyrotechnics. According to Mercury, the three-part “In the Lap of the Gods” is a direct prelude to “Bohemian Rhapsody.” It could also be inferred that the giant stadium rock sound of “In the Lap of the Gods…Revisited” is a precursor to “We Are the Champions.” Songs range from the proto-speed-metal “Stone Cold Crazy” to the ragtime rocker “Bring Back that Leroy Brown,” and “Lily of the Valley” references Mercury’s mystical “Seven Seas of Rhye.” With continuity in its details, melody in its bombast, and twists in its lyrics, Sheer Heart Attack is considered one of Queen’s best.

    Sheer Heart Attack Catalog Number:  EMI/Elektra 7E1026

    Sheer Heart Attack Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Brighton Rock – 5:08

    2. Killer Queen – 3:01

    3. Tenement Funster – 2:48

    4. Flick of the Wrist – 3:19

    5. Lily of the Valley – 1:43

    6. Now I’m Here – 4:10

    Side Two

    1. In the Lap of the Gods – 3:20

    2. Stone Cold Crazy – 2:12

    3. Dear Friends – 1:07

    4. Misfire – 1:50

    5. Bring Back that Leroy Brown – 2:13

    6. She Makes Me (Stormtrooper in Stilettos) – 4:08

    7. In the Lap of the Gods… Revisited – 3:42

    Get Sheer Heart Attack on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]queen sheer heart attack, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: