• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Pet Sounds

    Inspired by the Beatles’ Rubber Soul, Brian Wilson set out to create “the greatest album ever made.” The result: Pet Sounds. Widely ranked as one of the most influential records in pop music history and greatest albums of all time, Pet Sounds went on to largely inspire the Beatles’ Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band. An introspective song cycle of love, loneliness, and nostalgia, Pet Sounds is often considered the first rock concept album. It possesses an extremely unified feel and meticulous attention to detail. Its title a reference to Brian’s favorite sounds, the album features astoundingly elaborate and unorthodox arrangements, the inventive instrumentation of session musicians the Wrecking Crew, and the use of the studio as an instrument. Including the exquisite “Wouldn’t It Be Nice,” “Don’t Talk (Put Your Head on My Shoulder),” and one of the greatest love songs of all time “God Only Knows,” Pet Sounds is as heartbreaking as it is breathtakingly beautiful.

    Pet Sounds Catalog Number: Capitol ST 2458

    Pet Sounds Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Wouldn’t It Be Nice – 2:22

    2. You Still Believe in Me – 2:33

    3. That’s Not Me – 2:27

    4. Don’t Talk (Put Your Head on My Shoulder) – 2:52

    5. I’m Waiting for the Day – 3:01

    6. Let’s Go Away for Awhile – 2:18

    7. Sloop John B – 2:57

    Side Two

    1. God Only Knows – 2:46

    2. I Know There’s an Answer – 3:10

    3. Here Today – 2:38

    4. I Just Wasn’t Made for These Times – 3:21

    5. Pet Sounds – 2:20

    6. Caroline, No – 2:16

    Get Pet Sounds on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]beach boys pet sounds, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: