• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Summer Days (and Summer Nights!!)

    As its title indicates, the Beach Boys take a sunny, carefree approach on their ninth studio album, Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!). The album includes the hit single “Help Me, Rhonda” (which has evolved from the Today! version to include an “h”), and their anthem to the sunny California lifestyle, “California Girls.” The symphonic intro of “California Girls” is reportedly Brian Wilson’s favorite moment of his songwriting career. Of the many album highlights are “The Girl from New York City” (a response to the Ad Libs’ hit “The Boy from New York City”), and a larger-than-life cover of Phil Spector’s “Then I Kissed Her.” The jangly “Girl Don’t Tell Me” features a fantastic Carl Wilson vocal and the five Beach Boys on instruments, in lieu of the usual session musicians. Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!) also marks the first appearance of Brian’s stage replacement Bruce Johnston on a Beach Boys album.

    Summer Days (and Summer Nights!!) Catalog Number:  Capitol T 2354

    Summer Days (and Summer Nights!!) Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. The Girl from New York City – 1:53

    2. Amusement Parks U.S.A. – 2:31

    3. Then I Kissed Her – 2:15

    4. Salt Lake City – 2:00

    5. Girl Don’t Tell Me – 2:17

    6. Help Me, Rhonda – 2:45

    Side Two

    1. California Girls – 2:37

    2. Let Him Run Wild – 2:21

    3. You’re So Good to Me – 2:14

    4. Summer Means New Love – 1:58

    5. I’m Bugged at My Ol’ Man – 2:15

    6. And Your Dream Comes True – 1:02

    Get Summer Days (and Summer Nights!!) on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]beach boys summer days, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: