• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Surfer Girl

    The Beach Boys’ third studio album, Surfer Girl, was the first to give full production credit to Brian Wilson (though it is speculated that he produced the band’s first two albums, as well). Brian wrote the title track when he was 19, basing it around “When You Wish upon a Star.” The song became a huge single, and its B-side, “Little Deuce Coupe,” was another big hit. Singles aside, this album is full of treasures. “Catch a Wave” features harp performed by Mike Love’s sister, Maureen. “South Bay Surfer” is co-credited to Al Jardine, who had joined the band on bass for the album, and is a nod to the Beach Boys’ home turf of Hawthorne in Los Angeles’ South Bay. “In My Room” is a gorgeous Brian Wilson ballad full of strings, organ, and thick harmonies. The song’s personal style and sophisticated production, along with the unusual harmonies of “Your Summer Dream,” hint at the magic that was to come.

    Surfer Girl Catalog Number:  Capitol SM 1981

    Surfer Girl Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Surfer Girl – 2:24

    2. Catch a Wave – 2:15

    3. The Surfer Moon – 2:17

    4. South Bay Surfer – 1:49

    5. The Rocking Surfer – 1:56

    6. Little Deuce Coupe – 1:50

    Side Two

    1. In My Room – 2:11

    2. Hawaii – 2:02

    3. Surfers Rule – 1:42

    4. Our Car Club – 2:15

    5. Your Summer Dream – 2:31

    6. Boogie Woodie – 2:04

    Get Sufer Girl on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]beach boys surfer girl, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: