• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • On the Border

    The Eagles’ third studio album, On the Border, began like their first two: in a London recording studio with producer Glyn Johns. But Don Henley and Glenn Frey would replace Johns after two songs and hire Bill Szymczyk with the intention of going in a harder rock direction. As it often goes, it was the Johns-produced “Best of My Love” that became the band’s number-one hit single. Guitarist Don Felder was also brought into the fold as the fifth Eagle. He plays slide guitar on “Good Day in Hell” and a guitar duet with Frey on the single “Already Gone.” While the Eagles do achieve that harder edge on songs like the title track, the album also includes Bernie Leadon’s country-rock Gram Parsons tribute “My Man,” and a cover of Tom Waits’ “Ol ’55.” On the Border is the Eagles’ most stylistically diverse album, and shows them on the border of their melodic country past and heavy but polished future.

    On the Border Catalog Number: Asylum 7E-1004

    On the Border Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Already Gone – 4:13

    2. You Never Cry Like a Lover – 4:02

    3. Midnight Flyer – 3:58

    4. My Man – 3:30

    5. On the Border – 4:28

    Side Two

    1. James Dean – 3:36

    2. Ol’ 55 – 4:22

    3. Is It True? – 3:14

    4. Good Day in Hell – 4:27

    5. Best of My Love – 4:35

    Get On the Border on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]eagles on the border, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: