• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Permanent Vacation

    Released in 1987, Permanent Vacation is Aerosmith’s true comeback album. It went multi-platinum on the strength of the hits “Dude (Looks Like a Lady),” “Angel,” and “Rag Doll,” and is known as the album that reinvented the ’70s rockers as the superstars they are today. One important thing to note is that Permanent Vacation is the first album on which Aerosmith brought in outside songwriters, in this case Desmond Child and Jim Vallance. Along with producer Bruce Fairbairn (Bon Jovi), they give the record a more pop-oriented appeal without masking Aerosmith’s signature grit. This is evident in the standout blues cuts “St. John” and “Hangman Jury,” as well as the band’s rambunctious cover of the Beatles’ “I’m Down.” Where early Aerosmith albums typically ended in a ballad, Permanent Vacation ends in an atmospheric instrumental, “The Movie.”

    Permanent Vacation Catalog Number: Geffen GHS 24162

    Permanent Vacation Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Heart’s Done Time – 4:43

    2. Magic Touch – 4:37

    3. Rag Doll – 4:26

    4. Simoriah – 3:21

    5. Dude (Looks Like a Lady) – 4:26

    6. St. John – 4:09

    Side Two

    1. Hangman Jury – 5:31

    2. Girl Keeps Coming Apart – 4:13

    3. Angel – 5:09

    4. Permanent Vacation – 4:54

    5. I’m Down – 2:19

    6. The Movie – 3:59

    Get Permanent Vacation on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]aerosmith permanent vacation, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: