• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • In Concert

    This live double LP was released in 1964, right in the midst of the British Invasion. Yet, it keeps the folk fire burning bright. Opening with a cover of Bob Dylan’s “The Times They Are A-Changin’,” In Concert features Peter, Paul and Mary’s well-known hits like “Blowin’ in the Wind,” “500 Miles,” and “Puff (The Magic Dragon)” alongside spirituals like “Oh, Rock My Soul” and “Jesus Met the Woman,” and closes with their best rendition of Pete Seeger’s “If I Had a Hammer.” If fans weren’t aware of Paul Stookey’s past as a stand-up comic in Greenwich Village, they sure will be after listening to this album. While the songs are sincere and the trio’s harmonies more exquisite and moving than ever, there is a lot of lightheartedness in the set. The introduction to “A’ Soalin,'” Stookey’s improvised sound effects on Woody Guthrie’s “Car, Car,” and of course his “Paultalk” monologue all reveal a wonderfully witty side to the folk singers that their studio albums do not.

    In Concert Catalog Number: Warner Bros. 2WS 1555

    In Concert Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. The Times They Are A-Changin’ – 3:18

    2. A ‘Soalin – 5:25

    3. 500 Miles – 3:01

    4. Blue – 4:09

    5. Three Ravens – 3:54

    Side Two

    1. One Kind Favor – 3:14

    2. Blowin’ in the Wind – 3:39

    3. Car, Car – 5:05

    4. Puff (The Magic Dragon) – 6:18

    5. Jesus Met the Woman – 4:28

    Side Three

    1. Le Deserteur – 4:35

    2. Oh, Rock My Soul – 5:52

    3. Paultalk – 12:43

    Side Four

    1. Single Girl – 2:35

    2. There Is a Ship – 3:02

    3. It’s Raining – 5:27

    4. If I Had My Way – 3:03

    5. If I Had a Hammer – 2:42

    Get In Concert on Vinyl:
    [phpbay]peter paul mary in concert, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: