• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Fat Albert Rotunda

    Fat Albert Rotunda is an album that Herbie Hancock composed for Bill Cosby’s animated television show Fat Albert and the Cosby Kids. Produced by David Rubinson, the album marks a dramatic shift to jazz-funk and Hancock’s first release for Warner Brothers Records. Hancock does incorporate some impressionistic post-bop on the harmonically sophisticated “Tell Me a Bedtime Story,” which was later re-worked for the Quincy Jones album Sounds…and Stuff Like That. “Jessica” is also a moodier piece in comparison to the exuberant title track that follows. Hancock’s growing interest in electronics starts to show here as he creates grooves and complex solos with a Fender Rhodes electric piano. (Hancock was one of the first jazz artists to embrace the electric piano.) Along with his talented cast – Joe Henderson (alto flute, tenor sax), Johnny Coles (trumpet, flugelhorn), Garnett Brown (trombone), Buster Williams (bass), and Albert “Tootie” Heath (drums) – Hancock makes an album with as much swagger as Fat Albert himself.

    Fat Albert Rotunda Catalog Number:  Warner Brothers WS 1834

    Fat Albert Rotunda Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Wiggle-Waggle – 5:48

    2. Fat Mama – 3:45

    3. Tell Me a Bedtime Story – 5:00

    4. Oh! Oh! Here He Comes – 4:05

    Side Two

    1. Jessica – 4:11

    2. Fat Albert Rotunda – 6:27

    3. Lil’ Brother – 4:25

    Get Fat Albert Rotunda on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]herbie hancock fat albert rotunda, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: