• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Feets, Don’t Fail Me Now

    Herbie Hancock may be calling upon his feet not to fail him, but it’s his knees that come through on the second of his more poppy, disco-oriented albums. An instrumental with a Headhunters-like disco groove, “Knee Deep” features Bennie Maupin on soprano sax, Melvin “Wah-Wah Watson” Ragin on guitar, Freddie Washington on bass, and James Levi on drums. Opener “You Better Bet Your Love” is quite different, and follows the lead of Sunlight’s “I Thought It Was You” in its disco dance-floor appeal. It also features Hancock’s gauzy vocals through a Sennheiser vocoder and one of the album’s few Fender Rhodes solos. Ray Parker Jr.’s “Ready or Not” works up a Funkadelic-like groove with percussion from Coke and Sheila Escovedo, while “Honey from the Jar” is slow, sticky funk with Hancock’s wah-wahed keyboards. Full of grooves, synth, and dancin’ words, Feets, Don’t Fail Me Now is definitely for the electro-funk set, not the jazz set.

    Feets, Don’t Fail Me Now Catalog Number:  Columbia JC 35764

    Feets, Don’t Fail Me Now Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. You Bet Your Love – 7:36

    2. Trust Me – 5:41

    3. Ready or Not – 6:42

    Side Two

    1. Tell Everybody – 7:09

    2. Honey from the Jar – 6:51

    3. Knee Deep – 5:39

    Get Feets, Don’t Fail Me Now on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]herbie hancock feets don’t fail me, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: