• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Herbie Hancock Trio 1982

    The second release from the Herbie Hancock Trio is an acoustic respite from Hancock’s heavy electronic fusion work of the past decade. It finds him and his old Miles Davis Quintet-mates continuing the trend of their 1977 Trio album, and performing a mix of jazz standards and originals. Ron Carter’s acoustic bass sounds especially good on this recording, and drummer Tony Williams is in his element. Of the standards, their rendition of “That Old Black Magic” is an album highlight and Hancock best. Whereas all of the originals on the 1977 album were written by Hancock, each member of the Trio contributes a song here. Hancock’s “Dolphin Dance” is fantastic as it ignites from a slow and elegant piece into a barn-burner. Carter’s “A Slight Smile” is a waltz that switches between major and minor keys, and Williams’ “La Maison Goree” ends the set wonderfully. A Japanese import, this album is considered by Hancock fans to be a rare gem.

    Herbie Hancock Trio 1982 Catalog Number: Columbia LP 25AP 650

    Herbie Hancock Trio 1982 Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Stablemates – 11:06

    2. Dolphin Dance – 10:18

    Side Two

    1. A Slight Smile – 9:04

    2. That Old Black Magic – 8:34

    3. La Maison Goree – 6:42

    Get Herbie Hancock Trio 1982 on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]hancock Herbie hancock trio 1982, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: