• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Lite Me Up!

    Lite Me Up is a pop/R&B album from Herbie Hancock and Rod Temperton. Temperton, who had played in the UK funk/disco band Heatwave, was a big name at the time and on a roll writing hit songs for a string of successful Quincy Jones-produced albums (including the forthcoming Thriller). Here, he and Hancock write an album Mr. Jones would have approved of. “Gettin’ to the Good Part” features Jones’ associates Jerry Hey (horns), Patti Austin (background vocals), and Michael Boddicker (manic synth solo). Another Jones colleague, Patrice Rushen performs a vocoder duet with Hancock on “Give It All Your Heart” before a stunning electric piano solo. While Hancock doesn’t make many appearances on the album, he does do something he hasn’t done yet: sing without a vocoder. Another fun fact, Randy Jackson (American Idol judge) plays bass on “Can’t Hide Your Love.”

    Lite Me Up Catalog Number:  Columbia 85650

    Lite Me Up Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Lite Me Up! – 3:41

    2. The Bomb – 3:59

    3. Gettin’ to the Good Part – 6:12

    4. Paradise – 4:30

    Side Two

    1. Can’t Hide Your Love – 3:53

    2. The Fun Tracks – 4:03

    3. Motor Mouth – 3:59

    4. Give It All Your Heart – 7:39

    Get Lite Me Up! on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]hancock lite me up, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: