• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Man-Child

    Arguably the most funk-oriented of Hancock’s albums with the Headhunters, Man-Child is also the first to include electric guitar. For this, Hancock enlists Melvin “Wah-Wah Watson” Ragin, future Funkadelic DeWayne “Blackbyrd” McKnight, and David T. Walker, whose use of wah-wah pedal and accentuation of the up-beat contributes to the album’s funkier rhythms. Opening with one of Hancock’s most infectious funk songs, “Hang Up Your Hang Ups” reveals the album’s preference for more concentrated grooves with brief solos over improvisation. Hancock puts his large keyboard collection to use on “The Traitor,” but still incorporates acoustic piano on the album. “Sun Touch” and “Bubbles” are slower tracks filled with lush keyboard and synth textures. “Bubbles” features a solo from Wayne Shorter, backed up by Hancock’s cool electric piano chords, and Stevie Wonder steps in to play harmonica on “Steppin’ in It.”

    Man-Child Catalog Number:  Columbia PC 33812

    Man-Child Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Hang Up Your Hang Ups – 7:28

    2. Sun Touch – 5:10

    3. The Traitor – 9:37

    Side Two

    1. Bubbles – 9:01

    2. Steppin’ in It – 8:41

    3. Heartbeat – 5:16

    Get Man-Child on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]hancock man-child, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: