• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • My Point of View

    In 1963, Herbie Hancock was personally sought out by Miles Davis to join his “second great quintet.” If Hancock’s debut solo album, Takin’ Off, had convinced Davis that Hancock was one of the most promising talents in jazz, My Point of View must have confirmed that. Hancock had the opportunity to work with a group that allowed him to push the boundaries of hard-bop: Donald Byrd (trumpet), Grachan Moncur III (trombone), Hank Mobley (tenor sax), Grant Green (guitar), Chuck Israels (bass), and another second great quintet member, Tony Williams (drums). “King Cobra” really showcases Hancock’s strength as an arranger in its flare for unexpected harmonies and richly textured horns. “Blind Man, Blind Man” is a funky romp reminiscent of “Watermelon Man.” It reflects the Chicago neighborhood of Hancock’s youth and the blind man on the corner playing his guitar. “A Tribute to Someone” stands out for the risks it takes and is another of Hancock’s best.

    My Point of View Catalog Number:  Blue Note BST 84126

    My Point of View Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Blind Man, Blind Man – 8:19

    2. A Tribute to Someone – 8:42

    Side Two

    1. King Cobra – 6:54

    2. The Pleasure Is Mine – 4:03

    3. And What If I Don’t – 6:33

    Get My Point of View on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]hancock my point of view, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: