• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Quartet

    Shortly after recording their second album, the Herbie Hancock Trio (which consisted of Miles Davis’ old rhythm section) went right back into the studio, this time with the young and fearless trumpet player Wynton Marsalis. They came out with Quartet, a double LP that makes up for their string of Japanese-only releases. The album begins with two Thelonious Monk compositions and features a few Hancock classics (“The Sorcerer,” “The Eye of the Hurricane”), a standard they’d recorded with Davis 20 years prior (“I Fall in Love Too Easily”), and two songs each by bassist Ron Carter (“Parade,” “A Quick Sketch”) and drummer Tony Williams (“Clear Ways,” “Pee Wee”). Some see this as a symbolic album – the passing of the torch to the younger generation (Marsalis was 19 at the time). Whether this was the case or not, Marsalis definitely fanned the flames of the masters, as their performances here are fresh and daring.

    Quartet Catalog Number:  Columbia 22219

    Quartet Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Well You Needn’t – 6:26

    2. ‘Round Midnight – 6:38

    3. Clear Ways – 5:01

    Side Two

    1. A Quick Sketch – 16:24

    Side Three

    1. The Eye of the Hurricane – 8:03

    2. Parade – 7:56

    Side Four

    1. The Sorcerer – 7:18

    2. Pee Wee – 4:32

    3. I Fall in Love Too Easily – 5:53

    Get Quartet on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]hancock quartet, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: