• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • The Piano

    The Piano is another direct-to-disc recording of Herbie Hancock’s, initially issued only in Japan. The album finds a solo Hancock reconvening with his piano after a long run with electro jazz-funk. The first half features jazz standards, which Hancock had performed as part of the Miles Davis Quintet: “My Funny Valentine,” “Green Dolphin Street,” and “Someday My Prince Will Come.” Here they are elongated and elegantly woven together as a suite. The latter half of the recording is comprised of four original compositions – “Harvest Time,” “Sonrisa,” “Manhattan Island,” and the bluesy “Blue Otani” – which also form an inseparable suite. Due to the nature of direct-to-disc recording, Hancock had to record each side in one take. This not only gives these recordings the intimacy of a private concert, it establishes Hancock’s true virtuosity. His delivery is breathtakingly beautiful and touching.

    The Piano Catalog Number:  Columbia PG 34688

    The Piano Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. My Funny Valentine – 7:42

    2. On Green Dolphin Street – 3:20

    3. Some Day My Prince Will Come – 4:35

    Side Two

    1. Harvest Time – 4:49

    2. Sonrisa – 3:44

    3. Manhattan Island – 3:56

    4. Blue Otani – 3:25

    Get The Piano on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]hancock the piano, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: