• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • The Avant-Garde

    The Avant-Garde is an album by jazz saxophonist John Coltrane. It was recorded in 1960 and released in 1966 for Atlantic Label. John Coltrane made this album performing with trumpeter Don Cherry, bassist Charlie Haden, and drummer Ed Blackwell. It can be thought of as a musical fork in the road where Coltrane’s “sheets of sound” style of improvisation meets Coleman’s blues-based conception of harmolodics. The recording features tracks such as Cherry’s frenetic “Cherryco” and Coleman’s mid-tempo “The Blessing”. Coltrane showcased his unique soprano saxophone for the first time in this album. The significance of this album can hardly be overstated, as it marks the fruitful collaboration between Coltrane and Coleman’s vastly different musical styles.

    The Avant-Garde Track Listing

    1. Cherryco
    2. Focus on Sanity
    3. Blessing
    4. Invisible
    5. Bemsha Swing

    Get The Avant-Garde on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]coltrane avant garde, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: