• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Somethin’ Else

    Somethin’ Else is considered to be one of the greatest jazz/hard bop LPs of all time. Miles Davis is noted for his great contributions to the album. It was one of the few recordings he made for Blue Note Records. The Penguin Guide to Jazz selected this as one of its core collections. The record is known for its frenetic tempos and quiet tones. Miles Davisí frenetic pace was something that would be emulated for years to come. The album was released in 1959, but due to its popularity among jazz fans it has been re-released a number of times.

    Somethin’ Else Track listing

    1. “Autumn Leaves” (Joseph Kosma, Johnny Mercer, Jacques Prevert) – 11:01
    2. “Love for Sale” (Cole Porter) – 7:06
    3. “Somethin’ Else” (Miles Davis) – 8:15
    4. “One for Daddy-O” (Nat Adderley, Sam Jones) – 8:26
    5. “Dancing in the Dark” (Howard Dietz, Arthur Schwartz) – 4:07
    6. “Bangoon” (initially released as “Alison’s Uncle” and also noted as “Bangoon” on the RVG edition CD) (Hank Jones) – 5:05 (not on original LP)

    Get Somethin’ Else on Vinyl

    [phpbay]miles davis somethin else, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: