• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Bags’ Groove

    Bags’ Groove was a jazz album that was recorded in 1954 by Miles Davis and Thelonious Monk (and others), and was released under the Prestige Records label. The two took the title track from a recording session that took place on 24 December 1954. Bags is the nickname for the vibraphonist Milt Jackson. The other tracks on the album were recorded on 29 June earlier in the year. The album was recorded at the Rudy Van Gelder Studios in New Jersey. It was then released as an album in 1997. It was also the first time that Miles Davis would use the Harmon mute on the studio recording, and would play a big part in his sound for years to come.

    Bags’ Groove Track Listing

    1.    “Bags’ Groove” (Milt Jackson) [take 1] – 11:12
    2.    “Bags’ Groove” [take 2] – 9:20
    3.    “Airegin” (Sonny Rollins) – 4:57
    4.    “Oleo” (Rollins) – 5:10
    5.    “But Not for Me” (George Gershwin) [take 2] ñ 4:34
    6.    “Doxy” (Rollins) – 4:51
    7.    “But Not for Me” [take 1] – 5:42

    Get Bags’ Groove on Vinyl
    [phpbay]bags groove davis, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: