• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • It’s Monk’s Time

    It’s Monk’s Time is the sixth studio album by legendary jazz pianist and composer Thelonious Monk. The album was released for Columbia¬† Records in January 1964. It features four original Monk compositions as well as a couple of jazz standards. The record, produced by Teo Macero, has Monk performing with Butch Warren on bass, Ben Riley on drums and Charlie Rouse on tenor saxophone. Monk is at his best on “Brake’s Sake”, as well as the under-rated gem, “Memories of You”. “Lulu’s Back in Town” is a great example of Monk’s unique harmonic sense. The album is an ideal introduction to Monk and Jazz music in general and will delight long time fans of the artist and the music.

    It’s Monk’s Time Track Listing

    1. “Lulu’s Back In Town” (9:55)
    2. “”Memories of You” (6:06)
    3. “Stuffy Turkey” (8:16)
    4. “Brake’s Sake” (12:29)
    5. “Nice Work If You Can Get It” (4:15)
    6. “Shuffle Boil” (7:09)
    [phpbay]its monks time thelonious, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: