• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Monk in Tokyo

    Monk in Tokyo is the third Columbia Records album released by Thelonious Monk. The album features a number of original tracks along with several jazz standards, all performed at Monk’s Japanese tour in 1963. The Monk/Charlie Rouse/Butch Warren/Frankie Dunlop quartet is in excellent fettle in this live record, which is a great addition to the collection of any fan of Thelonius Monk or jazz music in general. Since this is Monk’s first visit to Japan, he offers as many facets of his style as possible. This album clearly shows why Monk was welcomed back enthusiastically to Japan several more times.

    Monk in Tokyo Track Listing

    1. “Straight, No Chaser”
    2. “Panonica”
    3. “Just a Gigolo”
    4. “Jackie-Ing”
    5. “I’m Getting Sentimental Over You”
    6. “Hackensack”
    7. “Evidence
    8. “Epistrophy”
    9. “Blue Monk”
    10. “Bemsha Swing”

    Get Monk in Tokyo on Vinyl

    [phpbay]monk in tokyo, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: