• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • The Union

    Named the third best album of 2010 by Rolling Stone, The Union is a collaboration between Elton John and one of his great inspirations, Leon Russell. Produced by T-Bone Burnett, it features guests Brian Wilson (vocal harmonies), Neil Young (vocals), Booker T. Jones (Hammond B3), Don Was (bass), and Robert Randolph (pedal steel). John’s motivation for the album was to acknowledge his hero and give him the platform he deserves. That he did as Russell’s “If It Wasn’t for Bad” earned a Grammy nomination for Best Pop Collaboration with Vocals. John and Russell teamed up to write the tracks “A Dream Come True” and “There’s No Tomorrow,” and Bernie Taupin collaborated with Russell on “I Should Have Sent Roses.” The album’s gospel-infused blues and country sound is reminiscent of Russell’s early-’70s classics as well as John’s Tumbleweed Connection, and brilliantly highlights their collective talents.

    The Union Catalog Number: Decca B0014879-01

    The Union Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. If It Wasn’t for Bad – 3:42

    2. Eight Hundred Dollar Shoes – 3:22

    3. Hey Ahab – 5:39

    4. Gone to Shiloh – 4:50

    Side Two

    1. Hearts Have Turned to Stone – 3:46

    2. Jimmie Rodgers’ Dream – 3:42

    3. There’s No Tomorrow – 3:45

    4. Monkey Suit – 4:46

    Side Three

    1. The Best Part of the Day – 4:45

    2. A Dream Come True – 5:06

    3. I Should Have Sent Roses – 5:20

    4. When Love Is Dying – 4:50

    Side Four

    1. My Kind of Hell – 3:15

    2. Mandalay Again – 4:54

    3. Never Too Old (To Hold Somebody) – 4:57

    4. In the Hands of Angels – 4:43

    Get The Union on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]elton john the union, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: